New Politics




NEW POLITICS is originally from Copenhagen, Denmark.
David Boyd (Lead Vocals, Guitar)
Søren Hansen (Lead Guitar, bass guitar, vocals, keyboards)
Louis Vecchio (Drums & Percussion)

Facebook TagTwitter TagYoutube Tag

The Extreme Graphix Rover’s Holiday Hangover

January 23rd, 2015

The Main Street Armory

Click Here for Ticket Info


Band Bio:

After writing songs together for three years for their respective solo albums (which were never produced), Boyd and Hansen realized they had a group forming. In 2009, the duo sent two of their songs (“Stress” and “Money”) into the Danish National Radio P3′s Karriere Kanonen (“Career Cannon”) competition. Of the 973 bands that entered, New Politics was one of 42 selected to perform—despite not yet being an official band, and not having selected the final line-up. Boyd and Hansen hired Poul Amaliel to play drums. The new trio were among the top four winners and went on to play in a major music festival in Denmark.

In November 2009, New Politics signed with RCA. After a brief UK tour, the trio went on to do a nationwide US tour. Because of the group’s new record deal with RCA, they decided to move to the United States. They currently reside in a loft apartment in Williamsburg, Brooklyn, New York.

The band performed at the South by Southwest festival in March of 2010. On July 13, 2010, they released their first album, the self-titled New Politics. It featured ten tracks, including their hit single “Yeah Yeah Yeah”. An official video was filmed in New York City for this single. The album received a mixed review from Allmusic, who thought that the band’s influences were too obvious. They embarked on a 30-date tour of the US to promote the album, and supported Thirty Seconds to Mars on the Into the Wild Tour in September and October 2010. They made a second video for their single, “Dignity”, and released it on on October 8, 2010. Like “Yeah Yeah Yeah,” this video was also filmed in New York City. In autumn of 2010, drummer Poul Amaliel left the band to return to Denmark.

From May 28-June 26, 2013, the band served as the opening act for pop-punk band Fall Out Boy during their Save Rock and Roll Spring Tour. On July 21, 2013, New Politics performed “Harlem” at Guy Code Honors at Comic-Con. The band served as the opening act for Pink during her The Truth About Love Tour at select dates until November 6, 2013. They also accompanied Panic! At The Disco for their Europe Tour in November 2013.

In early 2014, New Politics kicked off their Harlem, U.S.A. tour with openers Magic Man & Sleeper Agent. The tour spanned the first few months of 2014 and was their first ever headlining tour. They opened for Fall Out Boy along with The Pretty Reckless for the European leg of the Save Rock and Roll tour in 2014. They were the opening act for the 2014 tour by Paramore and Fall Out Boy, Monumentour. On September 22, 2014 the band released a new single titled “Everywhere I Go (Kings and Queens)”. The band kicked off their headlining Everywhere I Go Tour with Bad Suns and SomeKindaWonderful on Oct. 14th in Washington, D.C. and are currently touring the US and Canada.


    Leave a Comment without using Facebook